top of page

A Ravishing Reflection (& Tips)

I wanted to use this blog post to talk about what I learned from running this blog thus far and help some people who are like me and just want to bake or cook casually with easy recipes and who want to use what they already know to recreate food from cartoons! These steps also loosely follow an infographic I made at the beginning of this fun little project! I’ll attach the infographic at the very end.

1) Study your food

Much like you would study material for an exam, it’s important to study images of the food you are trying to recreate. This ensures the treat will look and taste the way it’s intended to!


2) Study your source

You should also study the source to see if anything is mentioned about the food you’re trying to recreate. If the cartoon you’re watching has a cake as the food you’re trying to recreate, but it’s already iced and you are unsure of the flavor, watch the source! See if the cake’s flavor is mentioned at all and that would ensure maximum accuracy.

3) Know your limits

Before you even start attempting to recreate anything, it is important to assess your limits. While it is always good to try new things, it may not be the place for this project. However, if you’re just doing this for fun and do not care about the end product, try new stuff! You may surprise yourself.



4) Find a recipe

Now that you are fully prepared its time to find a recipe! Finding a recipe to alter is easier than trying to make your own from scratch. As a beginner baker, using a recipe is so much easier than trying to figure out how to make something from scratch off the top of my head.

5) Have fun!

This is the most important step! So, don’t forget it! Make sure you’re having fun and not stressing too much about the final project. Stress isn’t fun and this should be fun!

I had so much fun doing this while in college and I hope I’ve inspired some people to recreate some yummy food they see in their favorite movies, shows, video games and more!


This has been a huge learning experience for me as well, I never considered myself an expert baker since I stuck to boxed brownie mix. But in challenging myself I found that not only am I an alright baker, but I had fun doing it!


Stay safe out there and as always, if you decide to recreate any of my tasty treats tag me in your recreation on Instagram (@2d.treats) and Twitter (@2dTreats)!

 

Commentaires


bottom of page